Inside The Mind Of A Vegan Alchemist. Carnivore Approved.

Posts tagged “summer. patio

The Edgy Vegan Beer Guide

You wouldn’t think it was something to be concerned about. At first glance beer seems to pass the vegan test without much dispute. Beer in its purest form is made from water, malt, hops, and yeast. Depending on the brand and type, other ingredients find their way in giving you a fruit beer,…


The Edgy Vegan Beer Guide

You wouldn’t think it was something to be concerned about. At first glance beer seems to pass the vegan test without much dispute. Beer in its purest form is made from water, malt, hops, and yeast. Depending on the brand and type, other ingredients find their way in giving you a fruit beer, or a cream ale, and giving you that distinct color and taste of a red compared to a blonde.

Further down the process line, past the main cooking tanks, beer often becomes a vegan faux-pas. Many breweries use animal products in the brewing process. Their most common use is as clarifying agents, but animal parts are also used for head retention, flavor, and coloring. Because there is no law requiring disclosure of non-vegan ingredients, beer labels rarely mention their use. Some animal products are the main ingredients in a beer and are easy to spot.  These are usually indicated on the label and can easily be avoided.  Honey is a common example. You can also just assume that anything using the word cream has a milk product of some sort in it. The animal products used in smaller proportions that don’t make it to the labels are those that you need to be aware of.

When I first discovered that beer had the potential to not be vegan, my initial thought was, “BUT I F**KING LOVE BEER!” …followed by “I wonder how many other vegans didn’t know this???” and topped off with a fantastic idea… “This calls for a Vegan Beer drink off! Fuck Yeah!”

Candice's Swingin' Birthday

Naturally I called my dear friend Cory and we made it happen. It involved 8 different types of beer, a handwritten chart, a pizza break, and a lot of serious conversations involving terms like hops, and fizziness and “…it’s coming out my nose!”

Top 5 Vegan Beers (Thus Far):

1.     Erdinger Weissbier

Taste: Smooth wheat beer, full of flavour with citrus undertones. Great for sipping and pairing with summer inspired meals aka: BBQ-ing. It is brewed using fine yeast according to a traditional recipe a in strict accordance with the Bavarian Purity Law.

Prost!!

2.     Mill St. Organic

Light, crisp refreshing flavour. We found Mill st. to be great, reliable summer beer that goes down like water. Ontario’s first certified organic lager!  Oh Canada!

Halfway through , we both decided that it was absolutely unacceptable to drink beer without pizza. And so, we called Magic Oven… and ordered the most epic $45 vegan, spelt pizza… and ate the whole damn thing… BUT we weren’t full yet, as we had more beer to taste test!

3.     Sapporo

A barley, malt smell with little hop presence. Nice rice taste with good balance; has a good aftertaste and is very refreshing. Kanpai!

4.     Muskoka Dark

Tastes like chocolate! Thin, dark beer with a slight bitter taste, combined with caramel and a faint hint of coffee. We like this as a light alternative to Guiness.

5.     Creemore Springs

Not overly sweet and not overly bitter. We found the citrus to be a bit more present in the taste than expected.  This beer is great for sipping after a long workday.

After way too much beer and pizza, I started a dance party and we decided to make our own beer creations… it wasn’t as epic of an idea as we thought. But it was delicious nonetheless.

Here is a list of the most common animal products that are used in brewing:

Isinglass – Clarifier that is very common in brewing. Comes from the dried swim bladders of fish. Almost all cask conditioned ale uses isinglass as a clarifier, although it is more common in England than the U.S.

Gelatin – Clarifier obtained from the skin, connective tissue, and bones of animals. Typically taken from cattle and frozen pigskin.

Casein/Potassium Caseinate – Protein found in cow milk used as a clarifier.

Charcoal – Used for filtering. A portion is usually produced from animal bones.

Diatomaceous earth – Used in filtering. Comes from fossils or sea shells.

Insects – Made into dyes and used for coloring.

Glyceryl monostearate – Animal derived substance used to control foam.

Pepsin – Also used to control foam; it is sometimes derived from pork.

White sugar – Flavor additive often whitened using bone charcoal.

Albium – Refers to any protein that is water soluble. Most common type in brewing is serum albumin, which is taken from animal blood.

Lactose – Beers labeled as sweet, milk, or cream stouts may or may not contain lactose.  Sometimes the description refers to the texture and not the ingredient.  It’s best to double check these to be sure.  Milk chocolate is common in certain styles, but some so-called “chocolate” porters or stouts actually contain no real chocolate at all. Some malted barley is called “chocolate malt” simply to describe the flavor the roasting imparts.