Inside The Mind Of A Vegan Alchemist. Carnivore Approved.

Routine, Routine, Routine – How to set up a morning ritual

 

This wasn’t easy to master… in fact it took many months

and was part of my morning practice!

It takes about 30 days to form and solidify a habit. The more you do it, the better you’ll get at it. One habit I believe every highly function human being should have is a consistent morning ritual or routine.  Having a morning ritual will set you up for success and will help to bring you closer to your goals; and it doesn’t have to be anything crazy! It can be as simple as making sure that you are brushing your teeth and washing your face every morning…

Ideally, morning rituals are supposed to be short and efficient – no more than an hour and a half. It may take a while in the beginning, but once you’ve gone through the ritual for about 30 days, it will become a part of your life that comes naturally, without even thinking about it.

A great way to make sure you don’t skip steps or forget anything when you start, is to print out a piece of paper with a checklist of everything in your routine. For example:

  1. 1.    Water
  2. 2.    Bathroom
  3. 3.    Breakfast
  4. 4.    Yoga
  5. 5.    Goals
  6. 6.    Twitter and Email

You can then carry this around with you, or stick it on your wall to remind yourself every morning to do these items IN this order.

Here is what I have as part of my Morning Ritual…

Water: Water is probably the most crucial part of my morning. On rising I drink 500ml of room temperature lemon water. This gets my digestive systems started for the day and makes for a lovely morning BM. I carry on with the other items on the list, but by the time I am finished I have consumed 1.5 liters of water before I have even left the house

Bathroom: I don’t think that going into detail is necessary here. Keep good hygiene. No one likes a smelly sailor.

 

Yoga: Having some sort of physical movement firs thing in the morning tells your body that the day has started. I do a few sun salutations, work on my headstand and do a few pushups. I feel energized and ready to go!

Breakfast: Whatever you do, don’t skip breakfast – the productivity consequences of that are extremely punishing. I make a high protein, carb and healthy fat based smoothie that usually takes me the entirety of the rest of my ritual to finish.

Blog: Since I blog daily, and have very VERY long days I have to make sure that I set aside an allotted time to get this done, and get it done efficiently. I am often known to doddle and get lost in internet world.

Goals: I like to set my goals, and schedule my day as part of my morning ritual. I use my iphone to schedule everything I need to do, with timers and reminders. I also take 15 minutes to look at my vision board and check in with myself regarding each goals progress.

Social Check: This I try to delay as long as possible. I usually do this on my commute. I send some Tweets, answer Emails and check Facebook all before 9 am. Then it is out of the way (for the most part) and you are free to concentrate on work. But let’s be serious, I tweet all day long….

All of this can be done in 90 minutes or less… yeeeehaw!

What does your morning ritual look like? I post pictures of me doing mine on Instagram! Check it out!

 

Leave a Reply

