Inside The Mind Of A Vegan Alchemist. Carnivore Approved.

How to Make Raw Crackers

20120803-235025.jpg

 

 

If you juice as often as I do, I am sure you begin to feel just as guilty as I do about throwing out your pulp! It was a basically a battle with myself every time I wanted to juice. I simply hate to waste any bit of food when there are those that cannot afford to eat anything! SO I decided that I would make Raw Cracker making a staple part of my life. And to make sure that you are not wasting your wonderful nutritious pulp, I will share this recipe with you!

I use the term recipe lightly because I am notorious for just throwing things together that just happen to turn out well… I never write things down. But here is more or less what I did.

In a vitamix I added:

3 cups pulp from my juice (kale, celery, spinach, carrot, parsley, cucumber)

1 clove garlic

1/2 cup flax seeds

1/4 cup chia seeds

1 cup water (plus more as I blended)

nutritional yeast

paprika

onion powder

oregano

BRAGGS Seasoning

salt

Just keep adding seasonings and tasting until you get a flavour you enjoy. This is the best part of the whole recipe!

I blended these items until I got a thick dough-like substance.  In a large bowl I had another 2 cups of pulp. I added the vita-mixture, (see what I did there? ;)) and kneaded with my hands.

Then I spread the cracker dough onto a Teflex sheet and dehydrated over night, flipping once. You can slice the crackers after 2 hours into even square etc. but I usually just break them up once they are complete.

Crispy Awesomeness.

20120803-235039.jpg

Leave a Reply

