Inside The Mind Of A Vegan Alchemist. Carnivore Approved.

What does it mean to Ground Yourself?

20120811-211645.jpg

 

We live in a busy, busy society. We are always on the go and we are exhausted. A few months ago I found myself not eating, not sleeping, stressed to the brim and constantly on edge.

One evening, I found myself in the middle of making a raw pie without a key ingredient. It was raining, and I was tired. I really did not want to head out in that rain to the grocery store for my missing item. But the order had to be filled, so I had to brave the storm. After 2 minutes of walking I felt safe, I felt calm and I felt…. happy. After 7 minutes I found myself without shoes, in the park by my neighbourhood twirling and facing the sky, letting rain soak my face and hair. I realized at that moment that I had not been barefoot, in grass in a very, very long time. This feeling of joy I felt was me being grounded.

Grounding ourselves as human beings is very important! It helps us to be more relaxed, release anxiety, depression, stress, pain and fatigue, let go of the past, make our bodies happy, and allows us to manifest what it is we want to create in life. What is our purpose? When was the last time you asked yourself what you wanted? No, not those shoes or that cute bag… What does your soul want? What do you want to do in this life?

Not only does your mind benefit, but also your body. Your immune system functions optimally when your body has an adequate supply of electrons, which are easily and naturally obtained by barefoot contact with the Earth. Research indicates that electrons from the Earth have antioxidant effects that can protect your body from inflammation and its many well-documented health consequences.

Try these three easy and free ways to ground yourself. I realize it may seem a bit too easy; but if you are open minded and try these out, trust me, they’re worth making part of your everyday.

 

Walk on the Earth

We have soooo many nerve endings in our feet! Remember that movie Avatar? Plug yourself into the ground. Take off your shoes and walk on the earth. Run through the grass, frolic, and dig your toes into the earth or sand. The earth carries an energy that nourishes your energetic body. As we walk around in our shoes all day long we deprive our bodies from absorbing that healing, natural energy. So get back to nature and let the ground restore your energy.

Take a Hot Bath

Water is purifying. Sitting in a warm tub of water will wash off any negative energy that’s sticking to you. You may come home from work with other people’s problems attached to you, someone else’s bad mood. Whatever the case may be, sit in a warm, relaxing tub and get all that shit off your beautiful body. If you don’t find this calming, well at least you’ll be clean.

Sit in Stillness

Sit in park, under a tree. Place your spine against the tree trunk. Put your phone away, and be quiet. Just look, listen, feel the air. How does it make you feel? What do you smell? Notice what you hear. Just be in the now. Try to clear your mind of anything that does not have to do with your current atmosphere. We are always plugged in, we are never quiet and we are never without stimulation. Try to sit in silence and see what happens. Meditate.

 

What are your favorite ways to ground yourself?

 

Leave a Reply

