Inside The Mind Of A Vegan Alchemist. Carnivore Approved.

That shit ain’t Vegan

A lot of foods we think are vegan are not! Read your labels! These impostors below are most commonly mistaken as plant based foods, but never fear, I have also listen great vegan alternatives!

1. Refined white and brown sugar- White sugar is refined using animal bone char. Don’t let brown sugar fool you either. Brown sugar is just white sugar with some molasses mixed back in to change the color, texture, and flavor.

Try These Instead:

Florida Crystals Organic Sugar
Organic Turbinado Raw Cane Sugar
Rapadura Organic Whole Sugar 
Hain Organic Cane Sugar
Bob’s Red Mill Date Sugar
Barry Farm Brown Rice Syrup
Maple Syrup
Agave Nectar

2. Bread- Bread can contain milk and animal-derived shortening such as butter and lard. A quick glance at the ingredients label should help you identify the non-vegan breads.

Try These Instead:

Ezekiel bread
Arnold Bread (many are vegan)
Vermont Bread (many vegan options)
Garden of Eatin’ Bible Bread
Cobblestone Mill (many vegan breads)
Pepperidge Farm (some vegan breads)

3. Gummy Bears- Cream gummies are obviously not vegan, but even fruit flavored gummy bears can contain gelatin. This means that they’re not even vegetarian! Gelatin is extracted from the boiled skin, bones, ligaments, tendons, hooves, and cartilage of animals. Yummy!

Try These Instead:

Organic Vegan Gummi Bears by Edward & Sons
Make your own vegan gummy worms!

4. Soy Yogurts and Cheese- Certain soy yogurt and cheese manufacturers waste the idea of using a plant-based milk for their yogurt or cheese by adding casein, a protein derived from cow’s milk to make their product more creamy. How does that even makes sense? Jerks!

Try These Instead:

WholeSoy & Co. Soy Yogurt
Nogurt

Cheddar: DaiyaGalaxy FoodsSoyCoBute Island FoodsTeese

Mozzarella: DaiyaTofuttiVegan RellaBute Island Foods

Parmesan: MH Foods Florentino ParmazanoVegetarian ExpressVegan Parmesan Alternative
Blue: Bute Island Foods
Monterey Jack: Follow Your Heart
Gouda: Bute Island Foods
Single Slices: Galaxy FoodsTofutti
Feta: Sunergia So Foods
Cream cheese: Follow Your HeartTofutti
Sour cream: ToffutiWayfare Foods
Whipped cream: Soyattoo
Ice cream: Taste the DreamTofuttiSo DeliciousCoconut Bliss

5. Worcestershire Sauce- You’d think this sauce is just a more flavorful version of soy sauce. It would have been vegan, if it didn’t contain anchovies! Never fear! you can still have a ceaser, just swap the Worch for some Braggs and the Clamato for tomato juice. BAM!

Try These Instead:

The Wizard’s Organic Original Vegan Worcestershire SauceAnnie’s Naturals Organic Vegan Worcestershire Sauce

Braggs Liquid Aminos

6. Fruit Juices- Some fruit juices contain shellac for extra color. Shellac is a secretion of the female lac bug. Carmine (made from dried, ground-up red beetles) is also used as food coloring in some juices. I’m not kidding. In addition, some juices are fortified with vitamin D3, which is derived from lanolin (also called wool wax or wool grease). That’s… just… ickkkk

Try These Instead:

Simply Nutritious
Welch
Sunsweet
Mott’s
Martinelli’s

7. Gum- Some chewing gums unfortunately use gum bases made of gelatin or stearic acid, derived from animal sources.

Try These Instead:

B-Fresh Vegan Chewing Gum
Epic Chewing Gum
Dylan & Delaney Natural Vegan Gumballs
Glee Gum


One response

  1. Renard Moreau

    [ Smiles ] Thumbs up to all vegans!

    June 3, 2012 at 1:39 pm

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s