Vegan Fast Food Guide
Once in a while you’re stuck. You find yourself starving and with nothing but fast food signs flashing in your face, and deafening you with their promise of greasy satisfaction. This is especially true when stuck in airports or driving cross country. So if you are considering this cholesterol raising, blood clotting, pore clogging option, I have made an idiot proof guide to fast food for every conscious glutton.
If you’re a vegetarian and live in, or are traveling to Canada then you are one lucky fatty. Both fries and veggie burger are vegan. Go Canada! US vegans however need to steer clear of this one. The fries contain whey ( I’m not quite sure where they found these “whey potatoes”), and the onion rings contain milk and eggs. Really, they’re saving you like a bagillion grams of fat anyway, so don’t be sad. They do have a veggie burger, unfortunately it contains butter but the bun looks to be vegan. So at this establishment stick to their salad selection and water. Or a burger bun…
Now this was interesting to me. In Canada the BK veggie burger is made by Sol Cuisine, so its 100% vegan! The U.S. version used to be vegan, but now contains egg whites. Apparently America hates us, but you will be happy to know that in both countries the BK Veggie is cooked on its own section of the grill. Make sure to be specific on toppings as the standard comes with cheese and mayo.
Now for all you French fry lovers out there, BK’s fries are cooked in 100% vegetable fat, and fried in their own fryer. Unfortunately this is not same for onion rings which are fried together with pork and other meats.
If you are even considering this you deserve to be beaten senseless with a bag of lettuce… They don’t deserve your money.
Well Wendy’s hates herbivores, they have decided to holdout on joining the veggie burger movement. All of their entree salads contain meat, but I’m sure you can order them without it. You then have a choice of two vegan dressings, oriental sesame and a house vinaigrette as well as a fat-free French dressing that contains honey. Their fries are vegan but are cooked in the same oil as the chicken nuggets.
Harvey’s was one of the first burger chains to develop and promote a soy-based patty. This burger is also cooked on a separate part of the grill when possible and you get to choose all of your toppings. Be aware that they use double dip spoons for dressings so I would recommend asking for ketchup and mustard packets on the side. Harvey’s vegan fries are fried in canola oil, but depending on the location they may be fried alongside the chicken. Just ask!
I realize Tim Hortons isn’t considered fast food per-se; however, I know that as Canadians you frequent this establishment at least once a day. So what can you eat at Tim Hortons as a vegan? You have the option of bagels, aside from the cheddar cheese, the whole wheat and the specialty bagels. You may also have this dry and bring your own better alternative such a coconut butter, almond butter etc, or you can have them make a sandwich for you. It aid still cost effective and will turn that dry donut into something with at least one living item on it.
This one should be a no brainer, but it’s not. As nothing ever is when it comes to food these days… Grab yourself the veggie sub with the white bread. Shocked?! Yeah me too, both the whole wheat and the honey oat contain eggs and, well…honey. When it comes to dressings stick to the oil and vinegar based options, the sub sauce really spices up a veggie sub quite nicely.
So if you MUST resort to fast food stick to these vegan options; they will keep you within your dietary restrictions. However, I will not be held responsible for whatever happens in the privacy of your bathroom afterwards.