Inside The Mind Of A Vegan Alchemist. Carnivore Approved.

Gallery

Homemade Almond Milk – without the Mooooo

HOMEMADE ALMOND MILK

As my love for food and healthy living began to grow, my family has become my support system. Last Christmas I received a food processor and it changed the way I worked in the kitchen. It cut down my preparation time by half, leaving me with more time to do other things I loved. For about a year now two things have been holding me back from becoming the raw food goddess I dream of becoming. The absence of a high speed blender and the missing dehydrator. Well this year my mother surprised me a high speed blender! The first thing I made was almond milk and I am going to show you how you can too!

1 cup almonds, soaked overnight

4 cups water

2 dates

pinch of salt

  • Strain and wash the soaked almonds.
  • In your blender add all the ingredients, and blend for 30 seconds starting at low, working your way to high.
  • Place a cheese cloth or nut bag in a bowl, leaving a generous overhang.
  • Pour the milk in the bowl, and twist the cheese cloth with your hands until all the liquid has escaped.
  • Pour into a container with a seal-able lid and keep in the fridge for up to three days.

I hate to be wasteful so I keep the almond pulp in the fridge for other recipes,or to throw on my morning oatmeal.

If you are more of a visual learner check out this video

One response

  1. Pingback: The Edgy Veg Episode: Almond Milk in Under 1 Minute « edgyveg

Leave a Reply

