Inside The Mind Of A Vegan Alchemist. Carnivore Approved.

Lemon Sugar Cookies

A lot of the time I find vegan recipes that have a lot of potential but I still find many things wrong with them. Too much sugar, loads of soy, and heaps of unnecessary fat. So, I decided to create a sugar cookie recipe that I could serve to someone even pickier then I am about what they put into their body. After a few hours of mixing and baking and trying… I came up with this gem.Enjoy.

2 1/2 cups organic flour

 1/4 tsp salt

1/2 tsp baking soda

2/3 cup organic or raw sugar

1/2 cup Earth Balance, pre-softened

1/2 cup apple sauce

1/3 cup lemon zest (about 4 lemons)

1 tsp egg replacer to 2 tbsp water

juice of 2 lemons

1/4 cup poppy seeds (optional)

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. In a medium sized bowl, sift together the flour, baking soda and salt.

In a larger bowl, beat together sugar, earth balance, apple sauce and lemon zest until smooth.Add the egg replacer mixture and lemon juice, until well mixed. Add the flour mixture and stir or beat until well combined.

This next part is my favourite, I have an obsession not only with using my hands but also with playing with my food. You are about to find out why…

On a small place spread out 1/4 cup raw or organic sugar. Form dough into one-inch balls, and roll into sugar until well coated. Flatten slightly, and bake for 8-10 minutes.

Leave a Reply

