Inside The Mind Of A Vegan Alchemist. Carnivore Approved.

Quinoa Pudding



Growing up in Germany and spending most of my summers at the beach with my Omi meant Pippi Longstocking sandwiches and tons of rice pudding. Rice pudding has always been a snack that reminds me of my grandparents. If I started feeling homesick I used to go get rice pudding and a pretzel. Since I am a converted vegan, I no longer have this option.
It was time to find an alternative! This pudding is so delicious and nutritious! naturally sweetened and a great source of fiber!

1 1/2 cups light coconut milk

1 1/2 almond milk 1/4 cup water
1/2 cup maple syrup
1 tsp. cinnamon
1 tsp. nutmeg
/2 tsp. ground cloves
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 cup raisins
1 cup quinoa

Over medium-low heat, heat the first seven ingredients in a large saucepan. Stir in quinoa, continue cooking over medium-low heat until mixture thickens and becomes the consistency of rice pudding (about 30 mins). If you find that your pudding seems a bit dry and the quinoa is still hard, just add a splash more milk and water and cook totally covered for a few more minutes. Serve warm or cold.

TIP: I like to top the pudding with strawberries or raspberries and crushed almonds!

Tip: Omit the cinnamon and cloves for a creamier taste that is similar to rice pudding!


Leave a Reply

