Inside The Mind Of A Vegan Alchemist. Carnivore Approved.

Thai Coconut Stir-fry


I realized last night that the things I find in my cupboard might be quite a bit different then the average person. When most people look into their cupboard after they haven’t grocery shopped in two weeks they most likely find items such as; cereal, pasta or cans of soup.

Last night I found coconut milk, sweet chili sauce and chow mein noodles. What can I whip up with this? I thought to myself… and here is what I came up with. A sweet, with a hint of spice stir-fry, that keeps you wanting more.
I am not tooting my own horn here, I am just being honest.

1 tbsp oil

3 large shallots, or 2 small onions

1 tsp chili powder

1 red pepper

1 chinese eggplant, sliced

1 cup mushrooms, sliced

2 celery stalks, sliced diagonally

1 1/2 cups shredded carrot

1 cup coconut milk

1 cup vegetable stock

2 tbsp sweet chili sauce

1 cup green beans

chow mein noodles

Heat oil in a fry pan or wok. Add shallots (or onions) and chili powder and stir-fry over medium heat for 2 min, or until the shallots are golden.

Add eggplant and stir-fry over high heat for 2 minutes. Add celery, rep peppers and mushrooms, cook until vegetables have begun to soften. Add coconut milk, stock and chili sauce; bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer uncovered for 10 minutes or until the vegetables are almost tender. Trim tops and tails from beans and cut in half. Add to pan, cook for another 2 minutes or until beans are just tender.

Serve over chow mein noodles or steamed rice.

Leave a Reply

