Inside The Mind Of A Vegan Alchemist. Carnivore Approved.

Coconut Lime Cuppy Cakes 100% vegan


I have always had this small obsession with owning my own bakery. I have this need to surround myself with beautiful things and what’s more adorable then a cute, fluffy, with-garnish-on-top cuppy cake? I often dreamed about the treats I would create; elbows deep in flour with icing in my hair and batter on my pink, frilly apron.

…But treats are bad for you.. all that sugar and butter and food colouring….

Not on this blog they’re not! That’s right fellow Veggies, Cando has the answer for you —vegan cupcakes. Don’t give me that “it probably tastes like cardboard” look, because you could not be more wrong. In fact these are moist and flavorful and fluffy. I believe in guilt-free treats, because if its accompanied by guilt, it doesn’t count as a treat.

So VOILA! Eat up my pretties! Lift your cupcake high and scream…

“That’s right world! I will eat this cupcake and I am going to enjoy every delicious bite, and guess what?! My ass will stay the same size!”

Cake Batter

1/3 cup coconut oil

 3/4 organic bone-char free granulated sugar

 1 cup coconut milk

 1/3 cup almond milk

 2 tsp vanilla extract

 1 table spoon finely grated lime zest (about 2 limes)

1 cup organic unbleached flour

 1/2 tsp baking soda

 1/2 tsp baking powder

 1/4 tsp salt

 1 cup unsweetened coconut

Preheat oven to 350 F. Melt coconut oil in a small saucepan over low heat (I’m talkin’ the lowest setting you’ve got low). Remove from heat and pour into a mixing bowl with sugar. Add almond milk, coconut milk, vanilla and lime zest and mix until you’re sore!

Add flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt and coconut. Mix until smooth. Line a cupcake pan with liners and bake for 22-25 mins, or until a toothpick comes out clean when inserted.

Cool COMPLETELY before icing.

Lime Butter Cream Frosting

1 cup Earth Balance

3 1/2 cups confectioners sugar

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/4 cup fresh lime juice (about 2 limes, use the 2 that you zested)

Beat sugar, Earth Balance, vanilla and lime juice for about 5 mins until fluffy. I like to thinly slice limes and half them as a garnish. So Adorable Dahhling…


Leave a Reply

